General election voting changes

Published: 27 February 2024

A graphic of a ballot box on a purple background

Residents living in two of the district’s thirteen wards will be voting for a member of the Ashford Parliamentary constituency at the next general election.

New boundary lines to balance the number of people voting for members of Parliament has resulted in the change for North Downs East and North Downs West residents.

These wards include areas around Hawkinge and Elham in the east  and Lyminge, Sellindge and Stelling Minnis in the west.

It is only the Parliamentary constituency boundary that is changing following the Boundary Commission’s review. Folkestone & Hythe District Council will continue to collect council tax and provide local services in the two wards.

Elections for Folkestone & Hythe District Council and any parish or town council in the two wards will also continue as before.

Cllr Gary Fuller, Cabinet member for resident engagement and accountability, said:: “The change is just for the Parliamentary constituency and means that the district council area will in future be covered by two members of Parliament.

“The council is delivering leaflets to households in the two wards to explain the change and polling cards will be clearly marked.”

Anyone not registered to vote, or has moved house recently, can apply to register to vote at .

Paper application forms can be obtained by contacting the council by email or by phoning 01303 853497.