Assessing the hazards

The Housing Health and Safety Rating System (HHSRS) applies to all residential accommodation, including owner occupied and privately rented properties

What is the HHSRS?

The HHSRS was introduced in 2006 (replacing the housing fitness standard) to assist local authorities to target properties in the worst condition, often housing some of the most vulnerable people. The legislative framework for this is contained in the Housing Act 2004.

Other acts such as the Environmental Protection and Building Acts are also commonly used to ensure reasonable standards within housing.

What hazards are assessed?

The hazards include:

  • Damp and mould growth
  • Excess cold
  • Asbestos
  • Carbon monoxide
  • Uncombusted fuel gas
  • Crowding and space
  • Entry by intruders
  • Lighting
  • Falls between levels
  • Electrical hazards
  • Fire
  • Flames and hot surfaces
  • Collision and entrapment
  • Domestic hygiene, pests and refuse
  • Food safety
  • Personal hygiene, sanitation and drainage
  • Water supply
  • Structural collapse and falling elements

Rating the severity of each hazard

Each hazard has a weighting which is used to determine whether the property is rated as having category 1 (serious) or category 2 (other) hazards.

Useful links